PDA

View Full Version : Bates Isabell Saddles?

seeuatx
Jun. 2, 2011, 09:47 AM
Thumbs up or down?

A saddlery that is about 1.5 hours away from me has a used one that is wool flocked (or so I heard... about to call them) and has the adjustable gullet. I was curious about opinions before I take half a day off work and make the drive up to see if I can get it on trial.

I like that it is (supposedly) wool flocked from what I heard, but I have no experience with the adjustable gullet systems.

eventer_mi
Jun. 2, 2011, 10:04 AM
This is a saddle people either love or hate. I think it depends on your pelvic floor. If you have a fairly flat pelvic floor, or one that's tipped backwards, these people tend to feel tipped forward on their crotches and/or jammed up against the pommel. If you're like me, with a very tipped forward pelvic floor, then you'll probably find it quite comfortable. I liked the ones I've sat in.

pcwertb
Jun. 2, 2011, 10:19 AM
I have one and I love it

Westglen Farm
Jun. 2, 2011, 01:15 PM
I love mine but it has the air panels.

belgianWBLuver
Jun. 2, 2011, 04:31 PM
My old Isabel Wintec (9 yrs old) was OK. I had to use a sheepskin seat pad with it becasue it did tip me forward. But it was and is great for the youngsters. Never a back problem (Cair panels) and the adj gullet was a perfect solution for their growing years.

I recently sat in the new Isabel Wintec - I bought it straight away. It still has a great fit for my new greenies but it is much more comfort friendly to me also. The seat is feels more roomy for me and and side panels are a little larger. No more sheepskin needed. ( I think I like it better than my leather Passier so I'll just pass on the Passier and show in it too!!!):yes:

Calhoun
Jun. 2, 2011, 04:39 PM