PDA

View Full Version : ACTHA Competitive Trail Rides?

MMacallister
Jun. 1, 2011, 10:17 PM
I am planning on attending the ACTHA ride at the VA Horse center on 6/25 but I have never done one before!

Does anyone have any advice? Like what to wear? What to pack in my saddle bags? What kind of obstacles to expect? Is anyone else from here going?

Thanks for any info!

spookhorse
Jun. 1, 2011, 11:19 PM
On every ride I carry in my Snug Pax (cantle and pommel bags):

First Aid kit
hoof pick
rain gear
crochet ear net (my horse *hates* wood bees and they always go for her ears)
wet wipes in a baggie
sunscreen and bugspray (travel size bottles)
granola bars
2 bottles of water
Compass, ink pen, multi-tool

Clipped to my saddle is a lead rope, and pony wears a rope halter under her bridle. If your horse is barefoot, you could carry hoof boots in case the trail is rocky or if your horse is shod, carry an Easy Boot.

You will need someplace to stow your trail map and obstacle list. The Snug Pax pommel bag I have has a little top pocket for that.

Wear comfortable riding clothing of your choice- remember the rides are supposed to be 6-10 miles so make sure you will be ok with whatever you choose for a couple of hours.

To get an idea on what type of obstacles you could encounter, check HERE (http://www.actha.us/index.php?option=com_association&view=guest&area=obstacles&task=view_list) for the different types of obstacles the affiliate can use. How they interpret those obstacles changes from ride to ride and affiliate to affiliate. Ride obstacles can be combinations of several of the obstacles listed here.

HTH!

Simbalism
Jun. 2, 2011, 01:38 AM