PDA

View Full Version : Where to advertise race broodmare?

NaturalSelection
May. 31, 2011, 12:29 PM
I am an experienced amateur event rider and I have retrained several off-track TBs for eventing/jumping competitions. I purchased a 2005 16.1H TB mare "All That Bling" in February 2011 from a semi-neglect situation (horse was skinny, wormy, no farrier care, etc.) as an eventing prospect. I wormed her, put weight on her, trimmed hooves, floated teeth and started her back undersaddle. Unfortunately she is not sound for consistent riding work and not really suitable as an eventer.

While I am not particularly knowledgable about race pedigrees, I am hopeful that in addition to being a beautiful grey mare with decent conformation and hooves she may have desirable breeding. Bling is by Exploit ($300k) out of Diamond Affair ($100k) by Black Tie Affair ($3.37M). I believe Bling started once as a 2-yr old and she had a 2009 colt that is starting race training this year. I don't have a lot of background on this mare because I bought her from a gal who bought her from a dispersal sale. I do have Bling's JC papers.

I'm in the Twin Cities, MN and I don't really have any racehorse contacts. Where should I advertise a race broodmare? How much is this mare worth?

furlong47
May. 31, 2011, 01:02 PM
She raced twice, once at 2 and once at 3.

Oaklawn Park 2/08/08 Race 6 (finished 11th of 12)
Canterbury Park 6/09/07 Race 2 (finished 6th of 7)

The 2009 colt is named Ideal Asscher Cut by Bright Launch

NaturalSelection
May. 31, 2011, 01:11 PM
Furlong47 - thank you so much for the additional information, I really appreciate that!

Laurierace
May. 31, 2011, 01:14 PM
She has little to no value as a race broodmare. I definitely would look for a different alternative.

SwtVixen
May. 31, 2011, 01:29 PM
Shes also a grand of Storm Cat and many wont touch that. I agree with Laurierace that maybe a home with light riding, 4h, lessons for pony club -- you can write her off on your taxes.