PDA

View Full Version : need help with ideas on getting pony round at the canter

RTF
May. 30, 2011, 05:32 PM
I have a student that struggles with getting her pony round at the canter. Pony is very nice, goes on the bit easily at walk and trot, but stiffens up and raises head at the canter. Student is a very good rider, but I cannot get her to get the feel for connecting him at the canter. He is shorter necked and the student has a hard time maintaining the connection when he does canter.

This is a good rider, they score 60 plus easily at training level. I would love some ideas, exercises to help her get the feel for getting him softer at the canter. I am a good lower level trainer, but this one has me stumped. I have tried many different exercises already and would love to hear if anyone has something that I have not thought of. How do you explain when to use the connecting aid or half halt at the canter, with out loosing the energy.

trabern
May. 30, 2011, 05:58 PM
How does the pony do at the canter on various sized circles without a rider? And straight, without a rider?

Some horses have a difficult time balancing at the canter. If you analyze how pony does moving freely, it will clue you in to whether the reason he tenses and hallows out is to do with the rider/weight on back, or just pony's way of going. For example DD's Haflinger mare had to work much on the lunge and on free lunge to develop a balanced canter on circles 20m and smaller--she is a trot machine, but canter was just not so natural for her without getting fit at it. SHe had to literally work up the fitness to stay supple and balanced on a 20m circle canter--then we worked circles down from there.