View Full Version : Dressage Trainers & Boarding Des Moines?

May. 28, 2011, 01:57 PM
Hi all,

I'm interviewing for a job in Des Moines and am curious about the Dressage scene - specifically trainers and places to board. Can anyone help or share names/contact info?

May. 29, 2011, 10:16 AM
Anyone? There must be someone or is there only corn?

Sparky Boy
May. 29, 2011, 01:11 PM
There are a few hunter barns. I don't know about dressage barns. Maybe north of the city?

May. 30, 2011, 09:07 AM
In searching around, i found only combined training/eventing or H/J. Uh oh. How far would i have to travel for good coaching?

May. 31, 2011, 12:04 PM
This place is about 2 hours from Des Moines; I have no current first-hand knowledge of it:

May. 31, 2011, 12:19 PM

May. 31, 2011, 01:29 PM
These GMO sites might have more info

May. 31, 2011, 01:35 PM
In searching around, i found only combined training/eventing or H/J. Uh oh. How far would i have to travel for good coaching?

You might want to PM Camstock, she lives in the DM/Ames area. I know she teaches dressage, but I do not know to what level. There is an instructor from Missouri who used to visit two of the Ames barns once a month-- Marina Paris-Woodhead or something like that. As for boarding, I cannot think of any dressage barns, but there are some hunter/jumper in that area.

Shagyas Rock
May. 31, 2011, 05:03 PM
Hello, yes, we have dressage in Iowa - I suggest you contact the Iowa Dressage and Combined Training Assn - www.iadcta.org. Des Moines is a wonderful central location and we have several good instructors depending on your level.
The Iowa Dressage Classic show is being held June 18-19 in the Des Moines area. You can find details at www.dressageinfo.com.

Welcome to Iowa. We are famous for our warmth, friendliness and hospitality and we hope you are happy here!

May. 31, 2011, 07:05 PM