PDA

View Full Version : what to wear

colorfan
May. 26, 2011, 01:50 PM
This thread is for what is acceptable to wear when showing dressage.

I am new to showing so am looking for direction. What are the differences in what you wear in lower level dressage and hunter or jumping classes?

Please don't tell me to ask my coach. I guess I am the only coth member without a regular coach and club to ask these questions.
I did go to a show last year to scope things out, but I don't remember specifics on jacket style and do I need a collar and pin in dressage?

jcotton
May. 26, 2011, 02:12 PM
Read the entire section of the dressage portion of the USEF rulebook. Read it three times! And the ammended sections of the rulebook pertaining to dressage.
Might as well read the hunter/jumper portion, too, while you are at it.

Holly Jeanne
May. 26, 2011, 02:19 PM
You aren't the only one with a regular coach and not part of a club. I would like some clarification though. Since you say you aren't a member of a club, does that mean you are talking about schooling shows rather than recognized shows? I've done a couple of those recently and most of them stated their dress expectations in their materials. I recently bought a cheap dressage jacket but last fall I wore my hunt coat with my choker and pin. I've done a grand total of 4 schooling shows in 13 years and wore hunt attire at all but one. Got good placings too so I assume no one cared. :D

Leprechaun
May. 26, 2011, 02:33 PM
Tall back boots, white breeches, stock, black coat, helmet. Did I forget anything?

InWhyCee Redux
May. 26, 2011, 02:33 PM
From the USDF Website —

http://www.usdf.org/about/about-dressage/competition/tack-equipment.asp

"Riders are dressed formally in competition, traditionally with white or light colored breeches, a light-colored shirt and tie or choker with a black or navy blue colored jacket. Gloves may be white or black. Except for very young riders, boots are black and come up to the knee.