PDA

View Full Version : Long and low/stretching into contact vs falling on the forehand

MeghanDACVA
May. 24, 2011, 01:07 PM
Preface:
Stupid question, I know
I know all the prinicples, the classics, etc.
I ride up thru about 1st, ridden since I was 9, now 52, dressage work for past 20 yr. I am not a pro.
Mare is big and difficult; if she spent half as much time figuring out how to do what is being asked as she spends trying to figure out how to evade it we would be miles ahead.
She is 17.2, and big. I am 5'2". She is 13, have had her since 6 months.
She loves her forehand :-)
I ride with an ULR/T on a regular basis (monthly or so), and have with ridden with others for many years.

Now the question/problem:
Like I said, she LOVES her forehand. She also loves either hanging or getting above the bit and immitating a camel. Did I mention she is difficult (ULR/T have this same opinion--she is not easy to ride).

So when working on long/low to get her to stretch thru her back, etc, she often feels like, and prob is, just going on her forehand. Even when she on contact (and not pulling). When I send her forward she 1) goes faster 2) goes further on her forehand 3)throws her head and does her camel immitation.

I CAN get what feels like her stretching and lifting her back but what I wind up doing is picking up more contact while I send her forward. And now it feels like I am pulling. And the other thing she loves as much as her forehand is for little ole' me to hold big ole' her up.

When she IS good and correct she is lovely. But the other 80% of the time....

Have done teeth, vet, saddle, bits, yadda, yadda, yadda.

So I need ideas and suggestions from people who ride difficult, opinionated horses.

Elegante E
May. 24, 2011, 01:56 PM
Have a smaller version of this. Basically, it's a strength issue for her. You need to develop the stretch and contact. Kind of why I find the stretchy circle in Training level a bit bizarre. It's a lot harder than it looks.