PDA

View Full Version : Better Education for the Lower Levels

Concordia
May. 21, 2011, 05:37 PM
I would love to have a discussion about education, specifically at the lower levels and it's availablity to up and coming professionals.

At the 2009 USDF Convention in the Region II meeting, this topic was briefly discussed and I remember Maryal Barnett talking about the Instructor Certification program being extended to include a Lower Level Certification (currently, it starts with 2nd Level and below).

I thought this was a great idea and have really been looking forward to this becoming available.

As a coach, I often get horses and riders coming over from other trainers or barns with a lot of bad habits and misonceptions about the goals of Dressage. For the last time, it's not about a "head set"!!! :o hahah

Seriously though, when a student (or parent) is looking to get into this or any equine sport, they often have NO idea what to look for in a coach. Often they google it and decide on a trainer based on location or by [cheapest] price.

Many of these riders eventually decide to get more serious and often learn that what they've been taught is fundamentally incorrect. (i.e. see-saw to get the head down :eek: Don't laugh, I've actually had students tell me that is how they were taught!)

How many years (not to mention money!) do these riders waste having to re-learn the basics?

I think quality of education is important from the beginning. Good training shouldn't be reserved for the few that are lucky enough to get into the right hands from the beginning.

I hope that the USDF will eventually do us all (riders and professionals) a favor and roll out a program to certify lower level coaches/instructors soon. Hopefully, this will reduce the amount of riders who fall into the hands of uneducated "professionals" and allow us to improve the quality of the sport from the ground up.

Lets discuss! :)