PDA

View Full Version : How to get a very green horse to get her left lead?

GracieBay6316
May. 16, 2011, 09:59 PM
I began riding and training a green mare, who has spent her life as a broodmare, back in February. She's only been to one low level Hunter show but will soon be going to some higher level shows. She won't do very well against the upper level "made" horses since she will never get on the bit at all or pick up her left lead. She had never been trained previously to do either of these things. If I was a professional who rode every day of the week I could maybe fix this problem but I'm not and there isn't anytime to send her off to a trainer before the next show.
The first problem is her head. Side reins do not help very much and every technique I have tried so far hasn't worked. I don't believe in draw reins and I don't plan on using them. Are there any techniques or bits that you can suggest that would help?

The second problem is her left lead. She absolutely never ever picks it up. She was never trained besides being lightly started under saddle. Even when I lunge her in our small round pen she doesn't pick it up. At the previous show the judge ragged on me for not trying more than once to get her once her left lead. I knew she wouldn't pick it up, and I only tried a simple change so the judge would see that I knew she wasn't on the correct lead. I have no idea what to do about this.

Any suggestions are appreciated! Thank you so much! I posted this on the dessage forum because I figured you guys would know the most about such things. :)

thatsnotme
May. 16, 2011, 10:58 PM
Based on what you've said, why are you showing her? Is she being sold and no longer sellable as a broodmare? It sounds to me like she is not ready to be shown and you will be (unfairly) putting too much pressure on both of you. Any new bit or other thing that will get her on the bit quickly will not keep her there. Time, training, balance, muscle development, etc.