PDA

View Full Version : How much storage space for hay?

Houdini1220
May. 13, 2011, 04:27 PM
I'm in the process of trying to build a barn on a small piece of property. I'm going to be keeping two horses on the property. I'm trying to figure out the minimum amount of space I could get away with for hay storage assuming I would have it delivered once a month. I'm new to this, so any insight is appreciated. How much hay would you order a month for two horses, and how much room would I need to store that amount of hay.

Tamara in TN
May. 13, 2011, 04:32 PM
what size are your bales? traditional 41 inch or compressed 21 inch?
as storage needs are determined by dimensions of the items to be stored.

Tamara

Houdini1220
May. 13, 2011, 04:44 PM
I don't buy my own hay right now, I do full boarding, but most bales in my area are the larger ones, so I would plan for those.

HPFarmette
May. 13, 2011, 04:56 PM
I am guessing you would use one or two bales per day if it's decent quality hay. Of the normal (not compressed) type. My hay storage area is about 12 feet by 20 feet and about 4 feet open space along 2 sides for access. Other two sides are against corner of the barn. I get 50 bales per delivery, and it gets stacked 4 or 5 bales high. If you can arrange for more ground space, you wouldn't have to stack it as high. If you have to do it yourself, you will be happy about that. You'll never regret giving yourself extra space, IMO, if you can.

Tamara in TN
May. 13, 2011, 04:57 PM
at 20 lbs a day you would feed 1200lb/mo
if the bales weigh 50 lb you need room for 24 bales
the dimension is 41x14x18 and if you can stack them
9 feet tall, your floor dimension is 4x4foot
or 4 foot deep 4 foot tall and 9 foot long

but being an unregulated industry,there are countless
variables involved to package size and weight and
quality.

Tamara

GoForAGallop
May. 13, 2011, 04:58 PM