View Full Version : Rocky Footing: WWYD?

Apr. 28, 2011, 02:35 PM
Allow me to preface this by saying that I'm no footing expert, and I'm not entirely sure how much of this (if any) can be fixed/maintained with proper grooming.

I moved my mare to a new barn in November, and I love it there. Big, gorgeous stalls, lots of turn out with pasture buddies, lots of trails nearby, great care. There is also a large sand ring that, while slightly deep in some places (nothing to be overly concerned about, plus they drag/level it regularly), has pretty nice footing. Except when it rains.

When it rains, and after it rains, it seems to be rocks galore. And not just a rock here or there, but ROCKY. The thing is, it never seems to be a problem except around rainy bouts.

My mare is a 3-y-o WB, and I just recently backed her. She has about 5 rides in, and due to my work constraints, she will only be ridden about once a week all summer. Come fall, however, I would like start riding her a little more consistently and start some actual training on her, and I'm a little concerned about the rocks.

So my question to you COTHers is, essentially, what would you do?

Is this a problem that can be kept under control with regular dragging/levelling and rock picking? Perhaps with extra attention after it rains?

Or will this always be a problem, and warrant me looking for a new facility?

I really appreciate any input/advice on this. I would hate to leave this barn as I really love it there and really enjoy the barn owners, but I also want what's best for my horse, and I don't want her coming up lame with a stone bruise every other week.

Apr. 28, 2011, 02:55 PM
Tell the barn owners to quit planting rock seeds, then they will stop sprouting after a rain.

What type of soil is their naturally? I am wondering if the rocks are coming up out of their footing/base or if they have a naturally sandy soil that they used for their footing.