PDA

View Full Version : Horses and College

StrawberryFields
Apr. 12, 2011, 02:30 PM
How many people owned horses in college? I am a sophomore in college and work at a farm for my job....but I really want a horse of my own. How many people owned a horse(s) in college? I spend all my time at the barn or with my boyfriend. I'm on the IHSA team as well but I would like to do more shows this summer. I'm not really into partying as much as other colllege students and really just want to spend all my time at the barn. I also have straight "A's" but lots of free time! What gives?!? I've owned horses all my life and I feel naked without one, haha! Anyway tell me the pros and cons, etc, etc. I used to have 4 horses at my house and show a lot but now I don't..... :(. It's weird and I feel like I'm missing something! I would work off my board and still get paid enough to afford everything. My parents would pay for show fees (just local stuff).

c'est moi
Apr. 12, 2011, 02:36 PM
You might get some good responses here, but there have been MANY threads on this very topic. I'd suggest doing a search on your query, I think you'll find a lot of good information.

StrawberryFields
Apr. 12, 2011, 02:38 PM
oh i know i was just thinking for my particular situation already being in college and such. The good thing is that I wouldn't need a truck or trailer because my trainer (also my IHSA trainer) goes to all the local and rated shows in our area. that would save a lot of money! I'll do some searches though :)

*JumpIt*
Apr. 12, 2011, 02:45 PM
If you have someone else funding the horse then all means get a horse. But as a current college student working 24/7 and pinching pennies to meet my horse's minimum needs then I wouldn't recommend it.

kateh
Apr. 12, 2011, 02:47 PM