PDA

View Full Version : Tall boots have too big of a calf....

sschuessler
Apr. 11, 2011, 09:28 PM
Just venting a bit....So I tried on boots at a local tack store, the Ariat Crowne Pro Zip up boots.... and the regular calf was too small while the wide calf was too big. So, I ordered a pair of full calf boots. However, these are too big in the calf area. But, I took them anyways but after one show in them, I decided I can't continue to wear them because they do not look right with the calf too big... and it is probably close to an inch too big but the smaller size will not zipup on my leg for some reason.

So frustrating to spend so much on boots to have them not work out!! So I guess my only option is to sell them and buy a different brand of boot that fits. Or has anyone ever taken their boots and had them 'altered'? Its a weird question but I am a broke college student who needs decent boots for show....
I tried on the treadstone boots too and they fit great but I was not willing to spend that much on a pair of boots that I didn't know much about... now I realize I should have gotten those!!
Anyways.... any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated!! (or if you just want to vent too :) )

alteringwego
Apr. 11, 2011, 10:09 PM
can shrink them up a bit with alcohol spray and a very hot car!

Big_Grey_hunter
Apr. 11, 2011, 10:21 PM
At least you can go down a size. There is not a single off the rack tall boot thin enough for my chicken legs. Then add in the tall AND skinny and I'm screwed. I'm crossing my fingers that the new tredstone 12-1/4" calf 19" height won't be too big in the calf, but it's still 1/2" bigger than I really want.

alto
Apr. 11, 2011, 10:23 PM
Double check the measurements with Ariat - sounds like the "full calf" pair you got are really a "wide calf" that were mislabeled (did you confirm the size on the label vs the box?)