PDA

View Full Version : Hotels around Lexington, VA?

OneWish
Apr. 10, 2011, 01:13 PM
Where do you guys recommend staying when you go to the VA HTs? How is the Best Western? Its really close to the horse center so the location is ideal, but how is the quality of the rooms? Any other recommendations? This is my first time out that way!

Thank you!

Lori T
Apr. 10, 2011, 01:27 PM
http://www.sheridanliveryinn.com/
This is my favorite place to stay. No pool, but we were usually too exhausted to swim anyhow, and figured if we absolutely needed to swim, we could crash one of our friends staying at a hotel that did have a pool!

scubed
Apr. 10, 2011, 01:38 PM
We have always stayed at the Best Western. It is quite nice, but it is typically hard to get a room.

The Hampton Inn is downtown and quite nice and the Holiday Inn and Comfort Inn both decent, with the Comfort Inn closer to the Horse Park

whicker
Apr. 10, 2011, 02:00 PM
There are many hotels right by the horse center. One is even across the street. There are also B&B's near it, too.

I was just down there to watch the national dog agility trials. I went with another cother, so of course, we had to check out the cross country course. It is VERY steep and long hilly, with thick grass turf. Your horse has to be quite fit. If you can practice on some major hills or sides of small mountains, it will be worth the effort.

The water is man-made and looks to be filled for the occasion. Expect it to be gray and not be able to see the bottom.
The jumps that were out on the course were all variations of natural big log materials. a few of the natural rails were thin, and those had cedar tree brush stacked in them.

Many of the jumps were sited on the sides of hills, so be sure to practice jumping up or down. I didn't see any helsinki jumps. Have those gone out of fashion?

The ground lines on the coffins and trakheners were quite visible.