PDA

View Full Version : Teeth grinding

Oskar
Apr. 10, 2011, 01:34 AM
I rescued a TB last fall and am now starting to ride him. He is not off the track, but he came from a very bad situation. He starts grinding his teeth as soon as I sit in the saddle. I have had his teeth done and am taking him for some chiro/acupuncture work this week. I am riding him in a Frenchlink snaffle and regular noseband and am going to try him in a rubber snaffle to see if he prefers that. I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions on how to help him get over the grinding.
I should mention that I have lots of experience with OTTB's, I just haven't ever had a horse that grinds his teeth/bit like this.

HMF
Apr. 10, 2011, 02:02 AM
I had a young Irish Sport Horse that would grind. We tried everything, ulcers, teeth, change in food, etc... Having him adjusted did the trick, I was shocked and thrilled at the same time. I think saddle fit was also contributing, probably the reason he needed an adjustment. Given my experience and that fact that this comes up when you get on I would rule out adjustments before changing anything else. If that doesn't work I would check into ulcers next if you haven't already.

Good luck, I hope you are able to get to the bottom of the issue!!

Oskar
Apr. 10, 2011, 02:12 AM
Thanks, I am hoping an adjustment will do the trick. He does grind a little bit while being lunged, but much worse when I get on him; long rein, short rein, it doesn't seem to matter. Some of it is anxiety as he has had more than a few bad riders on his back, but I do think there is an underlying problem!

gold2012
Apr. 10, 2011, 10:02 AM
We have this absolutely GORGEOUS 5 y.o. who did the same thing when we first got him....we did a couple things, after all the vet stuff that didn't help.

1. Don't tighten anything about his nose...not a drop, not the noseband, just leave a few fingers...then slowly tighten over time. I think he felt confined and was having issues with that.