PDA

View Full Version : Studs for a big horse

Duckz
Apr. 8, 2011, 01:24 PM
Forgive me if I use the wrong terms here, I'm a newbie when it comes to studs. The farrier wants to know what size holes to put in the shoes. He says the part of the stud that you screw in the shoe comes in different sizes, and that I may want to go with a wider one for my big draft cross. I looked up studs on Bit of Britain and Smartpak but they only talk about the part of the stud that's between the shoe and the ground. I'm confused :confused: Help?

tarheelmd07
Apr. 8, 2011, 01:52 PM
hmmm...far as I know, the part of the stud you screw into the shoe is a standard size for your average studs (the self cutting ones might be different...never used them before...).

I'd stick with regular-sized stud holes...

Eventer55
Apr. 8, 2011, 02:01 PM
A few years ago I bought a set of studs that I thought would be great for mud and did not use them for a year. When I went t o use them I found out they were larger than the ones I had been using. Apparently, there are studs that have different diameter shafts. . . If my farrier drills for these, the rest of my studs won't fit, so now I'm looking for studs with the same diameter shaft.

Duckz
Apr. 8, 2011, 02:31 PM
A few years ago I bought a set of studs that I thought would be great for mud and did not use them for a year. When I went t o use them I found out they were larger than the ones I had been using. Apparently, there are studs that have different diameter shafts. . . If my farrier drills for these, the rest of my studs won't fit, so now I'm looking for studs with the same diameter shaft.

Yes! That's exactly what he was talking about! I guess he thinks that they'll hold up better on a big horse. Having a hard time finding info on it.

To be honest, my friend has a stud kit she'll give me, and if it's fine to use studs with the standard diameter shaft then I will. The horse is 17.1, 1400 lbs, size 6 shoe.

Duckz
Apr. 8, 2011, 02:34 PM