PDA

View Full Version : 13.3 Hand Pony

momrider
Apr. 8, 2011, 11:12 AM
We tried out a 5 yr. old pony this week for my daughter that we really liked and we are seriously considering buying him. My only fear is that he measured 13.3 hands. His feet could probably use a trim and he wasnt tired when we measured him. Can anyone offer any insight as to how strict the process is to get a pony card. With a good workout and a trim, is there a chance this pony could measure as a medium? If not, should I be concerned that the pony would have to compete as a large at 13.3? My daughter is only doing mini stirrup right now but we would like her to be able to advance on this pony if we buy him.

Mayaty02
Apr. 8, 2011, 12:28 PM
I am no expert on how its done, but I can guarantee there are "medium" ponies out there with that unofficial measurement ;) I was watching some mediums go last week and I swear 75% of them have to be larges! (well maybe that's an exaggeration but when a true medium goes in the ring and everyone swears it must be a small...well you know there is a size issue :cool:)

I would personally not buy a 13.3 pony that had a perm measurement card as such...the jumps are higher, the strides longer, it would have trouble being competitive with top of the line large ponies. On the other hand, a 13.2 h perm card will make it a desirable medium...

sarcam02
Apr. 8, 2011, 12:45 PM
There are a myraid of "how to" measure threads on this board and there are reasonable ways to measure smaller (within reason). If you are buying a young one and you foresee pony becoming a real "divison" pony you do to consider resale which can be impacted. You could lease too.

That said there is a whole other world of lovely small larges out there doing other divisions which are probably just fine for your DD if she is doing mini-stirrup now. She has a few divisions (Short Stirrup - Pre-Child hunters and Childrens Hunter Ponies) to get through before pony hunters.

Good luck

sarcam02