PDA

View Full Version : Pleasure vs hunters in a schooling show?

cnvh
Apr. 1, 2011, 10:50 AM
I am a complete newbie when it comes to hunters; Horse and I usually stick to just-for-fun stuff like trail riding, weenie eventing, etc.

Anyway, I might be tagging along to a local schooling show later this month; this particular schooling show is usually all hunter and eq classes, but this year they have a "pleasure" division, with 3 flat classes and a 2' O/F class.

In general terms, I know eq is about the rider and hunters is about the horse... Can someone explain how pleasure fits in? In the (limited) description in the prizelist, it looks like pleasure is basically the same as hunters, but obviously it's different somehow or it wouldn't be its own division.

Translation please, for those of you who do this sort of thing on a regular basis... Thanks!

findeight
Apr. 1, 2011, 10:55 AM
Sounds like an oddball local deal as "pleasure" usually refers to flat classes while Hunters jump. When you see "Hunter pleasure" or "Hunter under saddle" it is a flat class for Hunter type horses.

You need to check with whoever is putting on the show for your local definitions.

ShaSamour
Apr. 1, 2011, 10:58 AM
In Pleasure, the emphasis is on manners and suitability to purpose. If your horse appears to be a safe, sane, pleasant horse to hack out on, that's it. The judges are looking for a light contact, prompt transitions, and a nice attitude. Being a nice mover helps, but isn't essential. You may be asked to extend the trot, hand gallop, halt, halt and drop reins, back, dismount/mount from the ground, trot over ground poles, back between ground poles. Obedience is key, but with minimal input from the rider.

At least that was my experience, in something over 250 pleasure classes in the original Sha Samour's show career. And we won most of them.

cnvh
Apr. 1, 2011, 11:07 AM