PDA

View Full Version : Terms and contract for horse on trial?

Ember
Mar. 31, 2011, 02:48 PM
You guys helped me out a couple of weeks ago with a lease contract. Now I have found what I think might be the right partner for my girl and she is going to take her on trial for a month to make sure they are the right fit.

What should I use as a contract for that period? The same contract as the lease but with the one month time period? Should I require all the same things? Insurance?

Any thing you guys think I should be sure to have in my contract? I've never done this before!?!

sar2008
Mar. 31, 2011, 02:52 PM
Well, I know you didn't ask for my opinion, but I am giving it anyway. I just want you to know it’s VERY risky letting your horse go on a trial without him being paid for. I speak from experience on that one.

My rule is I absolutely do not let any horse off the property UNLESS he’s paid in full. It's called a check in hand. I let my horses go on trial, but only with all the money up front. If it doesn't work out and the horse comes back as it left, they get their money back. You then know if the buyer is really serious.

I would make insurance mandatory during the trial period. If he gets hurt or dies, they can get their money, but you already have yours. I know it sounds silly being only one week, but seriously--It’s happened to me before that’s why I am so leery of trials!!!!

Also, normally the Pre-Purchase comes BEFORE the trial. You don't give your horse up for week risking it be run into the ground trying to get it sore (maybe not even intentionally) before the PPE. The sale is basically complete before the trial, but you agree not to cash their check and if they decide to return the horse after a week in its original condition, then you agree to return the check.