PDA

View Full Version : Peoples experiences with scribing

evntr5218
Mar. 30, 2011, 08:57 AM
I used to event and ride quite a bit but the past 6 or 7 years I havnt really done much at all and miss the showing etc. I also work in the racing industry so even though Im still involved in horses I miss the showing etc. Where I dont have a horse Ive thought about volunteering and wanted to hear about peoples experienced with scribing. Ive never done it before but think i would like to try it.
Any thots and suggestions? Do you enjoy it?
Also have never posted on here before so nice meeting all of you :)
Thanks in advance for all your feedback.

scubed
Mar. 30, 2011, 09:00 AM
I really enjoy scribing. I find it helps me understand what the judge is looking for and improves my riding.

It helps if you have decent handwriting and are comfortable writing fairly quickly.

It is good to be organized and have a system

Most judges are great and very helpful if you are new, but make sure the volunteer coordinator knows you don't have a lot of experience so they can pair you with a judge most likely to be ok with any slowness or a need to ask more questions

Have fun!

evntr5218
Mar. 30, 2011, 09:05 AM
thanks for the info.
read a couple articles (when in doubt google) and they said that strating out you should do lower level tests and since I will be volunteering at Spring Bay I dont think ill be doing any Grand Prix tests so It will be a good opportunity to get my feet wet and see if its something i would like to do :cool:

shea'smom
Mar. 30, 2011, 09:09 AM
I love it. I have been able to scribe for the Advanced at Southern Pines a few times. Very cool. The judges are always very nice.

CookiePony
Mar. 30, 2011, 09:12 AM
Good for you for volunteering! Scribing is a plum job-- you will learn so much. The first few tests are the hardest, as you are still getting into the rhythm. But once you have a system down it is fine.

gold2012
Mar. 30, 2011, 09:13 AM