PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else riding a stick of dynamite this spring?

CarCat
Mar. 29, 2011, 04:26 AM
I worked my mare a bit over winter, as much as I could. We handwalked down the road lots, and round penned and did groundwork, but compared to the summer and previous seasons, she was off. (we have lots and lots and lots of snow here - still do - and nowhere to ride once it gets too deep)

I've never had a horse off for the winter before, my previous location had better winter weather, so I'm new to this coming back in spring and WOW. She is a handful these days!!

She got away from a barnworker last week and went for a tour around the farm on her own - tail streaming behind her, lead flying in the wind. She is a twit to lead in general right now - hopping, bucking and being stupid. Its not like she is badly trained and doesn't know better either. I'm super strict on ground manners.
Under saddle...well....I tried to do some walk trot the other day in our newly melted arena and it was calm sane walk for about 2 min then into bucking leaping headshaking canterlike gait.
Under normal circumstances I would ask her to move forward out of the bucking sillyness, but the footing is still yucky and I don't want to run my out of shape girl in it.

Bah. I can ride the bucking etc, but its annoying. I know its not tack fit cause she does it on the ground and in the field as well. She's just really really full of herself.

The roads are all nicely melted and calling for trail rides and there is not way in hell I'm taking her on them while she's like this! :no:

Anyone else have this problem? Any help for it or am I just gonna have to wait until the ground gets harder and I can school properly?

Sigh. At this rate we won't be looking at a jump until mid July :(

yellowbritches
Mar. 29, 2011, 09:48 AM