PDA

View Full Version : Depo Provera - good and bad experiences?

murph
Mar. 25, 2011, 09:13 PM
Spoke to my vet and considering putting a couple of pony mares on Depo for this show season. Both are horrible to ride when in season, one gets very hot, spooky, flighty, the other basically doesn't want to move and turns into a total grouch. It's expensive obviously and I've never used it before so curious about other people's experiences with it, good and bad?

I've done some internet research and seen veterinary articles and studies that flat out state it does not work in horses at all, they still cycle etc, does not work as it does in humans. These studies said the only proven method was daily Regumate, which I don't want to get in to. That really surprised me, now don't know what to think?!

Soooo who has used it and what were your results? Did your mare stop cycling? What behaviourial changes did you see? How often did you give it? And what dosage/strength did you use?

Thanks for any input :)

holaamigoalter
Mar. 25, 2011, 09:21 PM
i used it for 3 months and saw no difference in my mare.

mroades
Mar. 25, 2011, 09:30 PM
works much better on geldings than mares...lol
regumate is the best way to go...it comes in a shot now!

Lieb Schon
Mar. 25, 2011, 10:56 PM
Hi there,

I've tried both.

Regumate yes, depo no.

If cost is an issue, you can buy 1000 cc jug of regumate for around $280.00- 300.00 and feed 1cc per 100 lbs of weight. If you know when they cycle, just start 2-3 weeks before and slowly wean off by dropping dosage each week when you are done. It doesn't have to be fed year around, and it's easy to give. I used to use it seasonally, but it's just simpler to use a maintenance dose on my 1100lb mare most of the year, and then up it during her peaks in spring and fall.
Let's put it this way, if you are already on birth control, what do you care? I've given it regularly without gloves and I still have normal periods. (Obviosly not ingesting or bathing in it!)