PDA

View Full Version : Full Length English Chaps

3 is the limit
Mar. 22, 2011, 03:47 PM
I have been riding in paddock boots and 1/2 chaps for the 5 years I've been riding. My trainer used to wear full chaps back in the day. About 3 years ago she switched to 1/2 chaps. Anyway, she was able to fit into her full chaps again and is riding in them. She thought I would improve my riding and sticking in the saddle if I got a pair.

Here is the rub: Custom chaps start around $450 here in LA. Since she and I are not nearly the same size, trying to ride in hers are not really an option.

I guess my question is:
1) do you ride all the time in the full chaps
2) are yours custom
3) are yours leather or suede
4) how did you know you would like full chaps if you didn't have a chance to try them on.
5) if you don't have custom ones but off the rack ones, are you happy with the fit and feel customization isn't necessary

Thanks in advance!

SidesaddleRider
Mar. 22, 2011, 03:51 PM
No, I only use mine in the fall/winter when it is cold. They are W-A-R-M!

2) are yours custom
Yes, from Journeymans.

Smooth Leather.

4) how did you know you would like full chaps if you didn't have a chance to try them on.
I had ridden in off-the-rack ones prior to getting mine made.

DMK
Mar. 22, 2011, 03:57 PM

95% of the time, the other 5% is to remind me what boots and breeches feel like for shows. I don't mind them in the summer - and I'm further south than most, because when I take them off its like stepping in the A/C, and I don't really notice it when I ride.

2) are yours custom

Yes, Tenney's

Leather (never get rough out! srsly!)

I never really joined the half chap craze, except way back when I was riding in "gaiters (half chap predecessor). All I can remember is when I went from those to full chaps, it was like the promised land. Of course this was before I had custom boots and good half chaps didn't exist... still, I like full chaps more!