PDA

View Full Version : Boots that DON'T wear out after a year?

Arelle
Mar. 21, 2011, 03:18 PM
Hi all - typing fast at work, will answer any questions this evening when home, but basic question is are there any boots out there that won't wear out after near daily use for a year?

I wear my tall boots year round and polish for shows. I hate paddock boots and half chaps.

I've been purchasing the $150ish Ovations once yearly for three years. They wear out near the end of each year and I set off again for another pair. (Blow out near the toes and the leather wears on the inner calf.)

While I hate breaking in new boots yearly, I don't want to buy customs if they're going to last three years and then not break even. Never had customs though, so not sure on longevity.

Suggestions?

STA
Mar. 21, 2011, 03:34 PM
I have a consignment shop in NY. I have pairs of Vogels and Dehners over twenty years old. Ariat, Ovation, and no name boots over a year old. All of the boots are in my shop because the original and latter owners took great CARE of their boots.
Whatever you purchase treat them with care.

Hinderella
Mar. 21, 2011, 04:06 PM
My Ariat boots are more than a year old & still look fine. I've also had good luck with Mountain horse boots; I had a pair that lasted three years of daily use before I had a hole in them.
STA is right, boots last longer with good care. Riding is one level of use, but if you're keeping your boots on to muck stalls and trudge in and out of muddy paddocks (as I did with my Mountain Horse) they will wear out more quickly.

BAC
Mar. 21, 2011, 04:20 PM
Yup, good care is what makes them last. Also, I wear those Tingley rubbers or Futi's over my tall boots and paddock bootss, and just take them off to ride (when I remember), which I think really helps a lot. It keeps them dry and prevents a lot of urine from eating through the soles. My custom Dehner's are 40 years old and although I haven't worn them in years the leather is still gorgeous.