PDA

View Full Version : transition from draw reins

WilfredLeblanc
Mar. 5, 2011, 03:28 PM
I realize people have varied opinions about the use of draw reins. Leaving aside the question of whether they should be used at all, how often, etc., I could use input about this training situation:

My 8 yo, unraced TB mare, who basically was not started until last summer, when I got her, goes beautifully in draw reins and a snaffle bit. In a snaffle bit alone, she will drop her head, but getting her to bend at the poll and accept reasonably firm contact is another story. Maybe bitting is irrelevant--I'm not experienced enough to know--but either way, it seems like some kind of approach to bridge the difference in demands made by draw reins with snaffle and by snaffle alone might be possible. My trainer has this idea that a hackamore would be the right next move, but I suspect that having nothing at all in her mouth for a while would ultimately cause her to regress. Maybe I should add, too, that I ride her in an old Stuebben Wotan AP saddle. In any case, I realize that there may be no solution anywhere except my hands, my seat, and my legs, but the fact that she gives the hoped-for "answers" to my "questions" when we're using the draw reins suggests that equipment might be part of the equation. Her mouth is clean. She had her teeth done in August, has no sores, etc.

Anyway, I would appreciate any pragmatic suggestions.

The goal, by the way, is not to turn her into a seriously competitive dressage horse, but simply to get her to ride in a nice frame with minimal hardware and minimal effort on my part.

Thanks.

dalpal
Mar. 5, 2011, 05:15 PM
I Have a friend who has a horse in training/accepting the bit issues.

I can tell you what they are doing and it seems to be successful (he is not an OTTB, but was a German auction horse).