PDA

View Full Version : wide Albion

colorfan
Mar. 4, 2011, 08:22 PM
Does anyone have an Albion wide or extra wide? Do they fit wider than other saddles with hoop trees?
I am trying to buy off ebay. I have never seen an Albion so have no frame of referrence for how they fit.
thanks

dwblover
Mar. 4, 2011, 09:06 PM
I am no expert on saddles, but my friend did order an Albion wide tree from the local tack shop to try. I remember it being quite wide from the looks of it. However her horse had a true table top back and most likely needed an XW tree as the Wide was too narrow. Just how wide is your horse's back?

colorfan
Mar. 4, 2011, 09:45 PM
Well that is hard to answer. I know her back is fairly flat. Many saddles rock on her.

I have a 32 Stubben and a wide Passier that are too narrow.

But I have also tried a wide bl country that I think was a tiny bit too wide.

dwblover
Mar. 5, 2011, 09:37 AM
Well I have had Passiers and Stubbens before and IMO a wide Albion would definitely be wider then those brands. The wide Albion my friend had was not absurdly wide though, so it may be worth a try.

rothmpp
Mar. 5, 2011, 09:44 AM
My experience with Albions is that width is pretty inconsistant from saddle to saddle. My trainer & I have what should be exactly the same saddle, SLK MW, yet hers is enough narrower than mine that it rubs slightly on my gelding, yet mine does not.

When trying them, I found a big difference from M to MW to W.

ThreeFigs
Mar. 5, 2011, 10:02 AM
Yes, in general, they fit wider than most other makes. It depends on the age of the saddle, too. I have an old Albion Original comfort Medium Wide that is about as wide as my Neidersuss Wide and fits the same horse well. I've been told that the older Albions were built on wider trees than the present-day ones.