PDA

View Full Version : Breeches and Knee Rubs

EqTrainer
Mar. 4, 2011, 02:06 PM
Over the last six months I've lost a lot of weight (unintended and unnecessary) and none of my breeches fit the same. When I started riding again I found that only my summer tights really fit at all and even those are loose in the knee area and giving me rubs.

Now, I have pretty bony knees, and sensitive skin and have always been prone to rubs. But this seems ridiculous! Can you actually lose weight in your knee area? And the real question is, what should i do? Buy some new breeches in smaller sizes to tide me over until I (hopefully) gain it back? Last question - I have many breeches with real leather seats/extended knee patches, does anyone reliably alter breeches or reuse the leather?

So many questions on such an odd subject :confused:

jen-s
Mar. 4, 2011, 02:13 PM
Equissentials will recycle the leather into new breeches, but I'm not sure about leather that they didn't originally create into breeches (that reads awful, but I hope it makes sense. http://www.equissentials.net/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/equissentials-leather-recycling-order-form.pdf That's a link from their website but doesn't provide much actual info.

I'll be very interested in the responses to this from people with far more breech-IQ points than me. ;)

Velvet
Mar. 4, 2011, 02:15 PM
Best solution is probably to go with fake patches, and softer ones. I've had similar issues over the years for various reasons (full seats that stopped short and don't go down the whole leg--and the bottom rubs in the boots, or knee patches that just bunch). Best thing is the soft fake full seats.

merrygoround
Mar. 4, 2011, 02:15 PM
Sports shops carry a product called "BodyGlide". It comes in a stick like a deodorant, and you just rub it on the affected area.

Years ago I used to rub my knees, more from bad leg usage I think, it certainly wasn't loose breeches. Bodyglide worked. Then I fixed my leg.