PDA

View Full Version : What is your toughest training challenge?

Piaffe11
Mar. 3, 2011, 02:08 PM
I have a subscription to the Dressage Today magazine and they've introduced a re-occurring article called "My toughest training challenge" - each month it's a different BNT telling their challenge and solution. I really like reading this article, because I can find I can relate and get ideas about solutions to my own challenges.

So my question to you is what was/is your toughest training challenge? And how do you solve or deal with it?

netg
Mar. 3, 2011, 03:48 PM
Relaxation.

My horse is by far the easiest, most natural horse I've ever worked with. As a dressage (as a show discipline, at least) newbie, with a horse who didn't have correct dressage basics, it was supposed to be HARD. Yet he tries so dang hard, and it all comes to him so naturally, that we're progressing very well despite my ridiculously many flaws.

However, once he figures out something, my horse tries to do whatever that is as hard as he can. Trying to get him to relax and let his back legs bend without practically sitting on the ground, lift his back but let it rise and fall instead of just holding it up stiffly, unbend after he's bent around my inside leg, etc. - he never returns to a "neutral" state if he can try harder, and it's a challenge for me to get him to do so in order to help him gradually build to where I want him and not injure himself.

GallantGesture
Mar. 4, 2011, 01:23 AM
What a great topic! I'm enjoying reading those articles in DT as well, but hadn't really sat down and thought about my own challenges until this thread.