PDA

View Full Version : Leasing a Horse

Galloping Granny
Feb. 22, 2011, 08:28 PM
I am considering leasing out one of my horses to a student, but am not sure how this type of lease is usually done. My only experience with leasing has been broodmares, and it has been "first foal mine, next foal yours". Here is the situation:

The horse in question is my heart horse. He is 13, third level, and also jumps. The only reason I'm considering a lease is that I have several young horses who need my time for awhile, and I need to free up some time and resources. I'm not sure I could go to the barn and not see his happy face greeting me, but I'm trying to be practical. Practical does not extend to selling him - I don't think I could ever do that.

The student in question is 14 and I've been teaching her for several years. She's become a good little rider and has been doing lessons on said horse and rides him very well. He's a little quirky to ride and she does a great job. She would take him to her home and use him for lessons, light showing and Pony Club.

What kind of arrangements have you on this board had in a situation like this? I presume they would take over his expenses and insure him, but do most people also have a monthly or annual lease fee? What would be reasonable? He's a very, very nice horse and very well trained.

TIA!

meupatdoes
Feb. 22, 2011, 08:46 PM
Have the horse vetted before it leaves to establish a baseline condition.

Ideally they would pay a lease fee. I would want one for a Third Level horse. General math is 1/3 the value of the horse per year.

However, people have been pretty cheap and want everything for free. They think they are doing YOU the favor.