PDA

View Full Version : Dressage prospect? Being brave..

Cataluna
Feb. 10, 2011, 12:45 PM
Been debating about this guy for a little while, and would like some opinions before I start thinking too crazy. I'm very new to dressage, coming from a background of mostly riding green hunter/jumper horses and have picked up A LOT of bad habits. Just for a heads up. I've recently found an exceptional coach who I will be working with very soon, and have decided to start horse shopping.

Horse is an 8 y/o OTTB, very green, knows walk/trot/canter (though not terribly well), but has a very good mind and a great fun personality. Super good worker, tries hard, and is a fast learner. His gaits are decent, though he is built downhill (16h in front, 16.1 1/2 behind). Extremely mouthy and very forward, some of which were caused by physical issues which have since been resolved, and he is improving steadily. Bit tense under saddle, needs work to relax.

Basically, I'm just looking for general opinions and suggestions about him, and maybe how to price him. If I make an offer, I want it to be relatively accurate for the current market. I'd like to take this horse as far as we both could go, and do plan on showing. Getting to 3rd level eventually is definitely a long-term goal.

In these videos, he's being worked in a bit which is too large (had to bring some of my own tack, didn't know his size), and it's sliding around a bit making it look like I'm pulling on him.. the rein contact really is quite soft. This saddle was a bit of a change from my usual dressage saddle, and it's obvious.

Trot/little bit of walk:
http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v635/Randelle/?action=view&current=DSCN3306_02.mp4

http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v635/Randelle/?action=view&current=DSCN3303_02.mp4

Canter:
http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v635/Randelle/?action=view&current=DSCN3300_02.mp4

Yay? Nay?

TIA!

alibi_18
Feb. 10, 2011, 01:12 PM