PDA

View Full Version : Showing "on your own" instead of "with the barn"

ArabDiva
Feb. 7, 2011, 11:48 PM
This is a bit of an etiquette/expectations question. I wanted to get the collective COTH input before it becomes an issue...

I've been showing since 2007 (at the schooling/unrated/local GMO shows level). Since my horses live at home with me, and my original trainer didn't show, I have always done EVERYTHING myself, from the trailering to the braiding and grooming and schooling and wiping the dirt off my own boots before I go into the ring. I show out of my trailer whenever it's possible and I've got everything down to a system.

Since this past August, I have been riding with a new trainer who is absolutely wonderful. Even though I trailer-in on a weekly basis she makes me feel like a part of the barn family, as opposed to other situations I've been in where trailer-ins were treated like aliens or second-class citizens.

So what I'm wondering is, now that I'm 'part' of a barn will I be expected to show 'with' the barn' (and pay the associated fees for assistance, grooming, etc.)? Will I be a bad client if I want to 'go it alone'? While I would love to be able to relax a little and let somebody else help take care of things on show day, I am a) kind of a control freak and b) don't really like the idea of paying for what I am perfectly capable of doing on my own (and don't really have the money to spend). I wouldn't mind paying for a schooling session with my trainer at the show, but paying for a full complement of services at every show will curtail the number of shows I can afford to go to this summer.

thoughts?

Elegante E
Feb. 8, 2011, 12:09 AM