PDA

View Full Version : Rolex Kentucky - where to stay?

AusEventer
Jan. 25, 2011, 05:17 AM
Hi...yes I am new to this forum. I'm from Victoria, Australia and coming to Rolex this year to spectate.

I am completely new to overseas travel and have become overwhelmed with looking for somewhere to stay in the Georgetown/Lexington area. It is so hard to know what is good value and what could be scary! I started looking up hotels online...found heaps of options, but am still not sure. :no:

Does anyone have any suggestions at the "budget" end of the scale? Myself and husband will be staying for 6 nights.

Any local knowledge and insights would be most appreciated. :) Small rooms are fine....rats and bedbugs are not! :lol:

MimsEppi
Jan. 25, 2011, 07:42 AM
Anything in the Georgetown area is great... Probably in the vicinity of Cherry Blossom Way is best. It's a really easy commute to the KHP down 75, and the area is good.

pegasusmom
Jan. 25, 2011, 07:51 AM
Got a good rate at the Microtel in Georgetown. Clean, quiet, nothing fancy, about a ten minute drive to the horse park.

khp vol
Jan. 25, 2011, 09:37 AM
I've heard good things about the Winner's Circle in Georgetown as far as a low-end hotel. It's locally owned and convenient to KHP.

Here's a more complete list of hotels in Georgetown and other areas outside Lexington:

http://www.rk3de.org/visitor_guide.html

For Lexington use this website:

www.visitlex.com

FoxChaser
Jan. 25, 2011, 09:44 AM
Check out the Eventing Sticky FAQ thread at the top of the Eventing Forum. There are all kinds of useful Rolex threads :)

Misocksgal
Jan. 25, 2011, 10:02 AM