PDA

View Full Version : Balanced Seat - New to Dressage

SpotznStripes
Jan. 24, 2011, 03:37 AM
And perhaps I am confused about the point of dressage...I love the challenge of riding anxious, uptight horses and getting them to relax and carry themselves with as little tension as possible. I was taught the forward seat and still find it to be the best seat for working with an uptight horse although I'll admit it may just be because I have 20 years experience riding hunt seat and only 2 years attempting to develop a balanced seat.

In classical dressage you use a balanced seat to ideally get the horse to thrust his hindquarters under him and elevate the forehand. But if the horse's head is raised, how can he raise his back/ribcage? And how does digging your seatbones into his back and putting the bulk of your weight towards the center of his back which has less weight-bearing support from his front/hindquarters going to help? I can attest that the rider is most secure in this position but is this really best for the horse? Horses are not designed to carry our weight either way, but wouldn't it better to shift it slightly forward to the shoulder which is designed to carry weight? And what's wrong with riding with a shorter stirrup and closing your hip angle which essentially helps absorb the shock of your weight (through your knees) and keeps it off the horse's back- wouldnt this be best for getting a horse to raise it's back and stretch through its topline?

I guess my bigger question is, in upper level dressage you are asking for movements that require an extreme amount of tension on the part of the horse (a horse at play is tense...so is a spooked horse doing a passage of his own free will). But if I don't want my horse to be tense, shouldnt I be riding with a seat that encourages the horse to stretch its head down (RELAXED) and raise its back up? And wouldn't this be the lightest seat possible?

alicen
Jan. 24, 2011, 05:34 AM