PDA

View Full Version : Working Students?

KPEventing
Jan. 21, 2011, 09:11 AM
It looks like it's time for me to look into getting a working student/ groom, but wanted to get a little feedback first! The good and bad of being a working student? What are some incentives that are appealing to a potential working student/groom; housing, boarding, lessons, training?

Heliodoro
Jan. 21, 2011, 09:23 AM
The biggest incentive for me would be training/lessons on a variety of horses!

Depending on where you advertise, housing might be a big incentive for some if there isn't a stipend or pay. The opportunity not just to compete, but to GO to competitions as groom or spectator! Just going when I first started eventing was SO educational.

Frankly as a working student I want to learn and be a sponge, not just a stall cleaner for min. wage who happens to take lessons with you.

Both my positions kind of included board, but it was deducted from my pay. I've seen some listings saying they don't have room for students' horses. I don't mind my horse on pasture board, but some people might.

Be upfront and honest about what your looking for from them and what you would be able to provide. If the situation changes, tell your WS when you know and work it from there.

ThatForwardFeeling
Jan. 21, 2011, 09:40 AM
For someone that is serious about having a hands-on learning experience being a working student can feed the thirst for knowledge. I have had a few WS positions and am looking at more and I have to tell you the most important things to me are: The quality of the instruction/material, professionalism, communication skills, and respect. I would expect an exceptional Teacher to act as a positive mentor. In return the WS must also provide his or her best effort at the tasks at hand.