PDA

View Full Version : Area VII people - best HT for a horses very first time?

Lucky_Break
Jan. 18, 2011, 07:55 PM
My young guy has been coming along fabulously and I am planning his show season. After a year of light showing at several venues my goal is to finish in the late summer/fall with an actual Horse Trial. Since I am new to area VII I was hoping some of you out there might be able to guide me.

I am looking for the perfect show where my guy can go BN. He will be well prepared by then for the BN and N questions. However I'd like a fairly straight forward course on both XC and in stadium. Some places have a highly charged atmosphere and some are a little more laid back. Since this will be his first HT I want to set him up for success and that means making a smart choice about our first venue.

Any input would be appreciated. I think I want to stay in WA this year so that is the limitation.

Thank you guys in advance for your help with this one! :winkgrin:

PuraVidaEventing
Jan. 18, 2011, 09:34 PM
Aspen Farm was run super well this year! One of my friends took her green horse to his first bn there and it went super well. Bn show jumps on Saturday so the atmosphere is way calmer up by the show jump ring. The fall ht jumped on sand which was awesome. XC is great for greenies, there's a mandatory water (flagged but if they stop its not a refusal) on bn.
The atmosphere is a bit mote charged than some, but I'd consider it pretty laid back overall. E.I. is NOT the best run IMO and caber has a more charged atmosphere as well, I think. So yeah overall I'd suggest Aspen imo :)

sofiethewonderhorse
Jan. 18, 2011, 10:12 PM
Aspen is a lovely venue. Another to take a look at is the YRBHT at the revamped Lincoln Creek facility.

The Area YR Coordinator has done a phenomal job in raising money, having the course designed by a pro (John Williams) and quality fences built.

Plus, LC has the best footing in the area (when it isn't under water :lol:)

PuraVidaEventing