PDA

View Full Version : New to Dressage - help me out

Riskie3
Jan. 17, 2011, 12:29 PM
Hello COTH,

Long-time lurker here... coming out and posting a video seems like a good way to get myself out there... haha.

So I am very new to dressage, but not new to riding. I have ridden western my entire life (except for saddleseat lessons around the age of 6-8). I know I have some very bad habits, and I think most of them stem from riding colts. I am usually more concerned about how my horse is going underneath me rather than how good I look. I am hoping to change that though, as I'd like for both me and my horse to look good!

Anyway, I originally wanted to get into reining, but my horse is just not cut out for it. I was asking for too much too fast from him, and I like him too much to find a new home for him, so I decided to find a discipline that suits him. I chose dressage because I know that any horse with 3 good gaits can do it. I also like the fact that you can start at an introductory level and work your way up. There really isn't that kind of option with reining... you have to have a talented horse if you really want to compete.

I have been working with a dressage trainer since October (lessons every other week), and we've come a long way. Most of our focus has been on my horse, getting him FORWARD. Ha... especially his trot. He was used to that nice little western jog that I'd let him do. I have also been trying very hard to work on my own position. I know I have slouchy shoulders, and I lean forward. The biggest problem I was feeling in this video was the fact that I had no forward in the canter and I felt like my lower leg was on him the entire time.