PDA

View Full Version : Conditioning the older horse...??

HannoMerci
Jan. 14, 2011, 01:48 PM
-

mpsbarnmanager
Jan. 14, 2011, 02:05 PM
I am no expert, but I would say it is possible, I would just take it slower. 12 is really not old yet. I would do mostly walk/trot for a good while, cantering takes a lot more energy than trotting. Good luck!

Janet
Jan. 14, 2011, 02:46 PM
It is not her age- it is the fact that she "has no muscle".

It isn't clear form your post if she was "eventing fit" (at the level you want to compete) or not.

If she has been fit before, you just need to make sure you do a lot of LSD work (long walks and trots) before you you start your speed work (heart and lungs). But she SHOULD come back pretty easily.

If she has NEVER been eventing fit before, there are some people who say you will never get them fully "wind fit". It shouldn't matter if you are competing at Training and below, but you may need to allocate more time for the speed work befoer you compete.

If you start now, with walk and trot work, she should be more than fit enough for BN by April.

WishIWereRiding
Jan. 14, 2011, 03:22 PM
I thought you were getting that young horse?

wildlifer
Jan. 14, 2011, 03:48 PM
Shouldn't be a problem at all. Just use LSD, stick to walks at first, pay attention to her body and build from there. Walking can get you a looooong way.

Janet
Jan. 14, 2011, 03:56 PM
Yes, she has been "eventing fit" just not in the past two years..
The fact that she has "ever" been evenitng it will definitely help.

Wordplay1832
Jan. 14, 2011, 04:30 PM