PDA

View Full Version : When is it time to sell? - Update Post 27

acking01
Jan. 14, 2011, 02:23 PM
I've been pondering this for the last several months regarding my mare. First let me say that I'm posting this in the eventing forum, because that is what I ultimately want to do. I've schooled cc multiple times and ridden with an eventing coach, but have yet to make it to an actual show. At heart, though, I consider myself an eventer! :cool:

I've owned my mare for nearly 6 years and during that time I've always felt that we never truly got along. We've always butted heads and I learned to just ride through those rough moments and try to keep my frustration down. She has never had any true bad habits, but my requests under saddle are always met the first time with a NO. Even simple requests like: circle left here, or stay on the rail, please. I'm sure you could say that maybe she has my number, although we have a great relationship on the ground. In any case, riding her has ceased being fun and I now find myself making excuses to avoid the barn. She is actually going better than ever at the moment too, but still pulls those "I won'ts" with me every ride. She doesn't toss her head, pin her ears, or kick out with a leg... she just quietly ignores me and maybe swishes her tail. If I insist, she'll throw every (non-violent) trick in the book at me until I finally win. She'll bulge her shoulder, grab the bit and pull me to the center of the arena, turn her head to the outside, try to pull the reins from my hands, etc. Now, I always make sure that I win these little battles and have had to seriously get after her on more than one occasion... yet we do this " quiet battle" thing every stinkin' ride and it is getting old. Most people can't even tell it is going on, these are very subtle "NO's"... they just wonder why we are standing at the arena gate again. :lol: