PDA

View Full Version : Thread is now irrelavent

HannoMerci
Jan. 5, 2011, 10:45 PM
-

chestnutwithchrome
Jan. 5, 2011, 11:06 PM
I personally don't like him for eventing. Too big and heavy. He looks very front end heavy and downhill, and a bit upright in the pasterns. At 17 + hands he is going to be a big heavy horse to control on x country, and although there is no studies that I know about, it is often said/thought that the bigger they are, the more likely they are to break down. I liked the chestnut gelding you posted about more :-) Good luck with him though! If you like his personality and movement, then go for it!

equestrianerd
Jan. 6, 2011, 07:54 AM
I'm no conformation expert, but he looks big and clunky to me. As chestnutwithchrome said, he looks downhill as well.

The chestnut looks a lot lighter and more balanced. He could still end up big/clunky if he gets above 17h, but he looks less likely to.

Good luck!

purplnurpl
Jan. 6, 2011, 09:11 AM
the chestnut is better put together though.

this horse could very well be a mess to hold together for dressage.

He's off my bigness chart and I'm 6'!
toooooo big.

BigRuss1996
Jan. 6, 2011, 09:37 AM
He appears to be fairly long backed, and looks a bit pigeon toed (which in turn could make him paddle) but could just be the picture.
I will tell you as someone who has had alot of 17.0 hand and larger horses they do have more soundness issues then a smaller horse especially when they are longer backed and heavy as he appears to be. As others have said they are also alot of work to put together for dressage. Also not to be a downer but if he goes as heavy as he looks he may not be the best choice for Preliminary or above. The courses get very technical and you need a horse that is light on it's feet and can turn and jump and get out of it's own way. I myself love the big guys but they really have to be short backed and cat like.