PDA

View Full Version : Hotel for Poplar??

Trak_Eventer
Jan. 4, 2011, 08:08 PM
Does anyone have an suggestions for a hotel near Poplar? I made a reservation for the Holiday Inn Express in Columbus, but there has to be somewhere cheaper to stay at! It is my first time showing down in that neck of the woods.

eponacowgirl
Jan. 4, 2011, 08:15 PM
Stay in Pine Mountain- I think my cohorts liked the White Columns when we were there.

DON'T stay at Days Inn, we had the most. horrible. stay. ever. the last time I was there and we've been staying there for years. New management.

Eventing_Rocks
Jan. 4, 2011, 08:18 PM
The Hyatt Place is really nice and you can get a special rate if you ask for the Poplar Place Farm rate I think the rate is 94 a night. :)

subk
Jan. 4, 2011, 08:20 PM
One of eponacowgirl's cohorts here.

Look into Pine Mountain there are a couple places. I stayed at the White Column Motel last fall and will go back. It's a family owned, non-chain, drive up to your door motor inn with a dozen or so rooms. It is NOT fancy. It is clean, cheap and the beds are very comfortable. The 60's veneer is covered with a coat of paint and that's about all. I love that kind of place, but it's not for everyone.

http://www.whitecolumnsmotel.com/

There's a good local Mexican restaurant just down the street and a local fern bar. Ecowgirl can tell you the name--order the shrimp and grits. (Can you tell I like to go to locally owned businesses?)

scubed
Jan. 4, 2011, 08:48 PM
some time ago, but last time I was there, I stayed here:
http://www.chipleymurrah.com/magnolia.php

I always like doing the B&B thing instead of hotel, especially when price is about the same

Pascova
Jan. 4, 2011, 09:02 PM