PDA

View Full Version : A Little Saddle Help?

waymire
Dec. 29, 2010, 05:04 AM
I am hoping for a bit of help from some of you who ride dressage regularly. I am a hobby rider, haven't shown in many years. I have been riding on and off for over 20 years in several disciplines. I have five horses currently (counting my dds pony who I seldom ever ride) that include a 13.5hh paint (practically round), 15hh cow bred qh, 16hh paint (narrow with a lot of wither) and a 16.5hh paint colt that is very wide and not done growing yet. I am interested in buying a new saddle and was considering a dressage saddle for arena work. I used to ride english many moons ago and loved the close contact and feel, but have only ridden western for the last ten years or so. I took about ten years off of riding when my children were all young, and I just feel more comfortable with that cantle and horn these days, especially since most of the horses I have had are green (we do a lot of rescue/rehabs).

Long story short I am hoping for some advice before buying. I am five feet tall with really short legs. I usually ride in a 12" youth barrel saddle which I love for the shorter stirrup leathers and very deep seat. I have read that I should be looking for a seat size of 15"-16" in a dressage saddle, but those are really hard to find that are not a pony tree and/or really cheap garbage saddles. I am also really concerned with what I have read about how hard dressage saddles are to fit properly. With so many different types of horses that may be a problem.