PDA

View Full Version : Dressage Saddles...on a budget

Crown Royal
Dec. 27, 2010, 08:30 PM
Hi everyone,

I'll start off by saying I am new to dressage! I typically do hunter/jumper, but am having my pony mare broke in the spring and plan on doing just dressage with her, mostly lower level probably, but I still want a good quality saddle. If it makes any difference, she is not young so won't be growing, but is FAT right now. She will obviously gain muscle once she's broken and is riding, so should I wait to purchase a saddle for her until a few months after she's broke so it fits properly? Or does that not make a huge difference? I don't plan to purchase until late spring anyway.

I need your opinions on a saddle since I have almost no experience with dressage saddles. I am on a budget, so saddles shouldn't be terribly expensive. I'm open to buying a good new saddle, or a better quality used one around the same price. I am not sure what I'm willing to spend at this time, but let's start with $1500 and under. I do plan to test out my top choices with a saddle fitter.

I'd love to hear your opinions/decriptions/experience with different brands/models of saddles, and how well they break in and hold up. I've heard to Amerigo's are nice, as well as the Prestige saddles. I'd love love love a saddle that will keep me IN. Opinions? Thanks!

scubed
Dec. 27, 2010, 10:03 PM
Tons of saddles at that price point. I recommend you buy a high quality used saddle as you can get much more for the money, especially if you/your horse are not too difficult to fit. I personally recommend wool flocking as I think it is more forgiving/adjustable as horses change. You might look for used Euroriding saddles. They are not so well known in the US, so are often a bargain. See what they have on closeout here (great deals and knowledgeable people): http://www.classicsaddlery.com/closeouts/consignments.htm