PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on fixing stall floor...

Lieselotte
Dec. 21, 2010, 11:31 PM
I would really appreciate your advice on a DIY "renovation" of my mare's stall.

She is boarded at a self-service barn on a very old farm, including all the problems that come with that. I don't expect any help from the owner (but I will have help) and will pay everything myself, hence I need to make sure I'm not throwing money away as I have no experience with barn/stall floors.

The floors of all stalls (12x12) and the aisle are packed earth, fairly badly eroded because doors on either end are open most of the time. My stall has many "peaks and valleys" and I just can't stand it anymore. It is getting worse and I worry that my horse can't rest as there's no even ground whatsoever... (She only comes in for the nights.)

My plan is to rip out the "stall mats" (these are not true stall mats, just wide rubber strips coming up off the ground and then nailed into the walls) level everything, dump a material to gain elevation again (the whole stall has "sunk down") and pack it down with one of those very loud machines you can rent. Then put real stall mats on top.

My questions:
1) What material would you use? Decomposed granite? Road base? Something else entirely?
2) Could there be an underlying problem I would need to fix first, like ground water issues, or simply rain water running underneath from the runout? In other words, will my "renovation" last?
3) Do you have experience with the interlocking stall mats? Are they worth the hefty price tag?

Thanks so much. And if you have any other suggestions, please let me know. (Can't pour concrete though ;)

ReSomething
Dec. 22, 2010, 03:47 AM
. . . My questions:
1) What material would you use? Decomposed granite? Road base? Something else entirely? road base/gravel