PDA

View Full Version : Changing "riding" disciplines....

Best View
Dec. 20, 2010, 03:14 PM
I have made the decision to move from the hunters back to dressage. I had ridden dressage for a number of years because the horse I had at the time was not happy jumping.

I then decided to return to school and sold my horses. During that time lots of things changed in my life and the horses returned. This time I thought that if I was going to buy a horse, I was going to make sure I bought a hunter so I could jump! Now that I have been doing the hunters for the last 6-7 years, I realize that I miss the dressage.

I am getting a little scared at the bigger fences and it is not so much fun anymore.

To anyone who moved from one discipline to another, any regrets, any advice... I have not told my trainer yet... That is the next big task.

Eklecktika
Dec. 20, 2010, 03:30 PM
Just do it.

I went from riding reining horses and rodeoing (roping) to eventing, and although the horse end has been a little up and down-sold a VERY promising horse because of divorce, bad PPEs, etc. I have zero regrets. I have a nice little horse that's coming right along, and while he isn't the be all of what I want, he'll get some miles, and get sold to fund what I DO want.

I enjoy what I do, its a challenge, and while we aren't anywhere near competing yet, so what? I enjoy riding again, and every time I pull my 'notpony' out of the stall and climb on, I look like this::D I've ridden short horses. I'm over'em. (Which brings me to my only regret: Coming off a big horse = more velocity gained between the saddle and the ground. BUT that also = more incentive to stay planted in the saddle and NOT be a lawn dart!)

I live in an area that means hauling several hours to find a HT or clinic, let alone a recognized event-but we still have fun, and I get my 'big crazy horses' to ride (of course, as opposed to the little 'crazy' horses I used to ride. I like sting....don't like a pushalong!)