PDA

View Full Version : Vent about trainer!!!!!!

victorian24
Dec. 17, 2010, 08:29 PM
So I am just beginning my start in Classical Dressage, after taking two years to build my equine business. I have a green broke mare in which I want to train on, however I am looking for a trainer that can start me on a school mount so I can get my balance seat back, and start building and strengthing my legs. I use to ride jumpers for 4 years before taking time off.

I have lost quite =a bit of weight almost 45lbs and have another 20 to lose, and I was riding and my balance from when I rode before to now was so different.

Since then my trainer dropped me :mad:

And her reason was my and my mare are too much work, I am too old (25) to begin a new riding discipline, esp Dressage, and my mare was too high strung. I am very upset right now. I am not for one second thinking of getting rid of my mare, we have been through too much to quit each other. I have been looking for a new trainer, and no such luck yet....

For now I have been just in the round pen with my mare working on W-T and getting back into riding.

I guess I just needed to vent/

if you read this, Thank you and sorry for rambling

xQHDQ
Dec. 17, 2010, 08:37 PM
Would you really want to be with a trainer who would dump someone b/c they are "too old" (you're not) with a high-strung horse? Obviously, this person did not feel they had the skills to teach you. The problem is, you're no different than most rider/horse combinations out there, which means this trainer isn't very good.

You'll find a trainer who appreciates you're unique qualities, and be glad you're no longer with the other person. Good luck.

alibi_18
Dec. 17, 2010, 08:50 PM
What is your equine business?

And probably if your ex-coach was a jumper trainer, he might not be that qualified to teach you dressage, or the way you'd like it to be. What are you looking for when you say 'classical dressage'? What are your expectations?

Carol Ames