PDA

View Full Version : Schleese Southwest Saddle Fitter Opinions

joannr24
Dec. 16, 2010, 11:20 PM
I own an Oldenburg mare who for the entire two years I have owned her has been back sore. She has had chiro, massage therapy and even a nuclear bone scan, multiple blood tests and scoping to understand this issue. All the vets say there is nothing wrong with her but she always acts sore.
Throughout this whole saga, I have ridden her in a DK saddle that is adjusted twice a year. I never even considered for a minute the saddle might be the issue.

You can imagine my frustration with this. The horse could be amazing in dressage but we fight this back issue constantly. At this point, I am only walking and trotting her.

I have always noticed she is most sore on her rear portion of her right side right under the saddle. I have mentioned the saddle issue to my massage therapist but it is quickly poo poo'd.

I started riding her bareback to see if the soreness went away. Today I got her out, ran my hands down her back and.....NOTHING! No pain response until I pushed really hard. Interesting.

Sorry for my rambling, but this leads to my issue. I am starting to wonder about the DK Dressage saddle with flair. I spoke at length to Schleese and their fitter Kristin thinks she would go well in an HK. I am also thinking maybe air panels aren't great for every horse.

Here is my question: Are the Schleese fitters ok? i will be honest that I have heard horror stories. If this saddle can fix my mare I will be thrilled but I worry about the stories I hear about fitters.

Any input on fitters? I live in Tucson, Arizona. If anyone knows anything please give me advice. I think I might be on to something with this mare but I don't want to make a bad decision and make it worse.

yaya
Dec. 16, 2010, 11:35 PM
Kristin comes to our area several times a year. She is a great fitter.

alibi_18
Dec. 16, 2010, 11:47 PM
Make yourself a favor and call a County or Custom Saddlery rep. asap!