PDA

View Full Version : So do you tip the truck drivers that deliver the stone dust?

IFG
Dec. 16, 2010, 09:06 PM
As you may have read on the Holiday gift thread, I am getting a load of stone dust for Christmas. So do I tip the driver? How much?

Thanks in advance for advice.

subk
Dec. 16, 2010, 09:16 PM
I don't tip. The man or his son that generally drive the truck also own the business. I figure it's like a hair salon where you don't tip if it's the owner of the business. They like me though! I gave his number to my contractor who not only used him for my house, but has made him his go to guy for stone on all his building projects!

BestHorses
Dec. 16, 2010, 09:41 PM
I've never tipped.

IFG
Dec. 16, 2010, 09:46 PM
I appreciate these opinions. I am new to the farm life. Maybe I am just so giddy at my holiday gift that I was wondering if I should share the cheer.

BestHorses
Dec. 16, 2010, 10:00 PM
I, too, have been giddy over new stone dust;) If you want to share and you can, I bet the driver would be happy to accept it!

RiverBendPol
Dec. 17, 2010, 07:43 AM
No. No tipping. He marks the stuff up enough to include a tip. :eek:

MistyBlue
Dec. 17, 2010, 08:16 AM
No I don't normally tip for loads of stone/stone dust.

But I probably would offer a big plate of home made cookies for a holiday load of stonedust goodness.

And I'd be giddy too. :D Stonedust presents are a hella lot better than anything else I can think of. (other than an indoor, LOL)

IFG
Dec. 17, 2010, 10:32 AM
Well the guy is a driver for a quarry, and I made a special request to put a few tons in front of the barn, and the rest over the sink hole that I hope is now resolved, so I did give a modest tip.