PDA

View Full Version : Selling a horse- commission question

NJRider
Dec. 14, 2010, 12:45 PM
I live in a remote area and have a nice young WB for sale for a reasonable price. Several trainers know about him and at some point it is possible I may get an inquiry because of the connection to the trainer. His listed price does not include any cushion for commissions. How does that work? Do buyers who buyer with the help of their own trainer expect to pay their trainer a commission? Should the price be raised to include an 10% cushion, or should the ad say something about price does not include any buyer's trainer commissions?

Petstorejunkie
Dec. 14, 2010, 12:50 PM
i'm not an expert on the subject, but it's my understanding the buyer pays _% of what the horse sold for to the finder, or includes it in the check to the seller, and seller pays.
think of them as closing costs on a house. ... whatever the contract states is how they get paid.

Melyni
Dec. 14, 2010, 01:01 PM
but which ever way you choose to do it, make sure you tell/discuss it with the professional first so that all parties are clearly aware of it and who pays what to whom.

It generally is a % of the sale price, but it does not have to be, it can be a flat finders fee, just make sure that all parties know up front.
I like to put it into the contract as well, that x commission was paid to Y person on the sale so that there is no misunderstanding or confusion.
I've seen a lot of big fights etc over commissions so now I like to spell it out clearly.
MW

netg
Dec. 14, 2010, 01:26 PM
It depends on the individuals involved.