PDA

View Full Version : Fitness after a long absence?

JAMO
Nov. 17, 2010, 04:13 PM
I just started riding again after a little more than ten years. As a junior, I rode at least a couple of horses each day, five days a week for probably 15 years. I know how to ride, my balance and timing are still good, etc., but my body is not in the riding shape it used to be. (hello loose lower leg! :mad:)

Has everyone else ever resumed after so long? How long did it take you to get back in shape? Any advice on extra exercises to do? Any guesses when I'll be ready to jump 3'6" again without too much air between the saddle and my legs? ;)

Thanks for the tips!

netg
Nov. 17, 2010, 04:51 PM
I'm still working on it after a year.... but really, 6 months of large amounts of riding is what it takes to make a HUGE amount of difference. I think the better a rider you were, the harder, because you KNOW how to use all those muscles... only never realized how strong they were until they're not. Expect to be sore regularly...

The Centaurian
Nov. 17, 2010, 05:03 PM
I have been back for a year, and I am not quite up to the level where I once was. I am pretty happy with my progress, though-- I am jumping 3' and my flatwork is better than it has ever been, thanks to the best training I have ever had :)

I usually ride once or twice a week, take pilates once a week, and do cardio or interval training on most other days. Because of my fantastic trainer and my out-of-the saddle fitness program, I am more correct than ever in the saddle, and when I do get back to my former level, I am almost certain to be better than I ever was as a junior/young rider!

If you ride at least 3 days a week, I agree that you could get it all back in 6 months, especially if you have a good trainer and/or a complementary workout regimen.

MR
Nov. 17, 2010, 06:19 PM