PDA

View Full Version : How long did you look before you found your horse?

SnicklefritzG
Nov. 17, 2010, 12:44 AM
My tentative plan is to have been back in riding for at least a year before I go horse shopping. However, like buying a house, finding a job, etc. it can take a while to find the right thing. Besides, the type of horse I'd feel comfortable with in a year or so might be different from what would be most suitable now.

The last horse I owned was one I bought as a youngster after I finished school and sold a few years ago. I had done the research while I was still in school, realizing that I wouldn't have the time or the money to buy until I graduated.

Fast forward to now and as an adult that has been in the workforce for a while I'm in a much different position. I can basically buy anytime and my budget is much larger than it was last time around, but I think it makes sense to have been back in the saddle for a while before buying.

I'm curious about the average time people spent looking before the found the right horse. In addition, is it easier to start shopping in the summer with the goal of finding something by fall or is it easier to actually start looking in the fall or winter when people might be doing less traveling and/or showing?

PNWjumper
Nov. 17, 2010, 12:59 AM
If you're ready and have the money it will take forever, and if you want it to take a full year you'll find a horse tomorrow. :lol:

Almost all of my horses have found me ("found me" as in the owners have called me, generally out of the blue, and asked me to take their horse), so I don't speak from a great amount of experience. But the last time I went looking for a horse it took me about 10 months from the day I started looking to the day I wrote the check. I wanted an unbroke 3yo, but couldn't find a 3yo that would pass a vet check. I went to a local breeder's farm and fell in love with a yearling and that was what I ended up loading into my trailer :)

hj0519